Board of Trustees

Current Board

The Taunton Public Library is governed by a six member Board of Trustees appointed by the City Council with the mayor serving as ex-officio.


  • Audrey Reese, Chair Person
  • Kevin Downing
  • Jason Cross
  • Edgar Gay III
  • William Hanna, PhD
  • Patricia Morris
  • Mayor Shaunna O’Connell, ex-offico


Meetings are open to the general public.

Trustees meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month.
Meetings begin at 1:00 p.m.

There are no meetings in July and August

Meetings are held in the lower level of the library in the Trustees’ Room.

If you have special reqirements that need to be addressed for your attendance to these meetings, please contact the library at 508-821-1410 (fax 508-821-1414) two (2) business days prior to the meeting you wish to attend.


Among the obligations of the Library’s Board of Trustees are:

To be responsible for the fiscal management of the Library

To establish written policies for:

  • the selection of library materials
  • use of materials
  • use of the facility

To enforce these policies

To appoint the library director, assistants, and other such offices

Support and maintain at least the minimum standards for library certification and annual state aid from the Massachusetts Board of Library Commisssioners

Bylaws, agendas, and minutes supplied upon request.